
NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES
Standards for Protection Against Radiation; Notices; 

Instructions and Reports to Workers; Inspections
 

EMPLOYEE’S RESPONSIBILITY AS A WORKER:
Familiarize yourself with the provisions of the radiation protection regulations and 
operating procedures that apply to the work in which you are engaged. Observe 
those provisions for your own protection, the protection of your co-workers and  
others. If you observe conditions which may lead to violations or have a safety  
concern, promptly report them to your supervisor.  

WHAT IS COVERED BY THESE REGULATIONS?
1.   Limits on exposure to radiation and radioactive materials  

in restricted and unrestricted areas;

2. Measures to be taken after accident exposure;

3. Personnel monitoring, surveys, and equipment; 

4. Caution signs, labels and safety interlock equipment; and

5. Exposure records and reports.

YOUR EMPLOYER’S RESPONSIBILITY:
1.    Comply with the requirements of North Carolina Regulations for Protection     

Against Radiation 10A NCAC 15 pertaining to work involving sources of  
radiation; departmental orders and registration or licensing conditions;

2.  Post or otherwise make available to you a copy of the North Carolina  
Regulations for Protection Against Radiation 10A NCAC 15, certificates,  
registrations or licenses and the operating procedures that apply to the  
work you perform, and explain those provisions to you; 

3.  Post Notices of Violation involving radiological working conditions and orders.
4.  Provide adequate radiation safety training to you, including the use of radiation 

producing devices or radioactive materials you may be expected to use.

5.  Keep your radiation exposure as far below the maximum allowable limits  
as is “reasonably achievable.”

6. Provide you with information on your exposure to radiation.

REPORTS ON YOUR RADIATION EXPOSURE HISTORY
Your employer is required to maintain records of your exposure to radiation  
as required by 10 CFR 20.2106. Your employer is required to provide you with  
written notification or a report of your exposure history under 10 CFR 19.13 if: 

1.    Your dose exceeds 100 millirem TEDE or 100 millirem to any organ or tissue  
over the monitoring year, or if you request your annual dose.

2.  Y ou receive an exposure in excess of the annual dose limits. Your employer 
     is required by 10 CFR 20.2205 to give you this report within 30 days of the  
    discovery of the exposure exceeding the dose limits. The exposure limits for  
    occupational workers are found in 10 CFR 20.1201.

3.  You are no longer employed by the licensee, and you request your exposure  
history from your former employer. 10 CFR 19.13(e) requires your former  
employer to provide you with this report within 30 days of your request, or  
30 days after your dose is determined, whichever is later.

POSTING REQUIREMENT
Copies of this notice must be posted in a sufficient number of places in every  
establishment where employees perform activities regulated by NC Radiation  
Protection; to permit employees working in or frequenting any portion of a  
restricted or controlled area to observe a copy on their way to or from their  
place of employment.

INSPECTIONS
All licensed or registered activities are subject to inspections by representatives  
of the NC Department of Health and Human Services. During inspections, agency 
inspectors may confer privately with workers; and workers may bring to the  
attention of the inspectors any past or present condition which they believe  
contributed to or caused any violation as described above. The employer must  
not prevent you from talking with an inspector. If you believe your employer  
has not corrected violations involving radiological working conditions, you may  
request an inspection. The request must specify exactly what is wrong and  
must be signed by the worker or worker representative. The agency will make  
all reasonable efforts to protect your identity where appropriate and possible. 

REPORTING SAFETY CONCERNS
Inquiries dealing with the matters outlined above are to be made to the  
Radiation Protection Section. Agency representatives may be reached during  
normal weekday work hours (8 a.m. – 5 p.m.) by phone at (919) 814-2250  
or by mail to: Section Chief, NC Radiation Protection, 5505 Creedmoor Road, 
Suite 100, 1645 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1600. 

  
RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS BRANCH INCIDENT  
24 HOUR EMERGENCY LINE:   

(919) 602-7151.
After normal hours, calls may be directed to the  
NC Emergency Management Operation Center at  

(800) 858-0368.

EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION
The North Carolina Employment Discrimination Bureau (EDB) enforces the  
Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act (REDA). Employees who have  
questions about the application of REDA or employees who believe they have 
been discriminated or retaliated against, should contact the EDB information  
officer.   They will advise you of the proper procedures to file a complaint. You  
may contact them by sending mail to N.C. Department of Labor, Employment  
Discrimination Bureau, 1101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 or by  
fax at (919) 807-2824 or by phone at (800) 625-2267 or fax (919) 807-2856   
That website is http://www.nclabor.com.
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