RADIATION PROTECTION SECTION



Division of Health Service Regulation • N.C. Department of Health and Human Services

New Label Requirements

2016 New Label Requirements

In addition to the manufacturer's label, CFR approval, lamp type label, and exposure schedule label, there are two new labels required regarding underage tanning now required on the tanning device:

- 1. FDA sticker for all tanning units in United States should be 10 millimeters high and states, "Attention: This sunlamp product should not be used on persons under the age of 18 years." This is a federal requirement as of October 1, 2015.
- 2. North Carolina required sticker which states, "North Carolina state law prohibits the use of this device by persons under 18 years of age." This label is a requirement as of May 1, 2016.

Please contact your service provider to obtain these labels or contact Radiation Protection with any questions.

State of North Carolina | Division of Health Service Regulation | Radiation Protection Section | Branch N.C. DHHS is an equal opportunity employer and provider of services.

Rev. 5/25/2022

1645 Mail Service Center - Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1600 Phone: (919) 814-2250 *Visit our website www.radiation.ncdhhs.gov*